Ethiopia begins two-year term as non-permanent member of UNSC


Ethiopia officially began its two-year term as a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) on January 02, 2017.

The new UN Secretary-General, Antonio Guterres also began his duties as the 9th Secretary-General of the United Nations on the same day and he did so with a strong appeal for peace in 2017.

Ethiopia together with other members of the Council will do everything it can to respond to Guterres’ appeal for peace and meaningfully contribute to the resolution of these conflict and crisis situations.

It is to be recalled that the United Nations General Assembly elected five non-permanent members to the Security Council on June 28, 2016, at United Nations Headquarters in New York. Ethiopia was elected with 185 votes out of 190 members of the General Assembly. The election provided the successful candidates, Ethiopia, Bolivia, Sweden and Kazakhstan with Italy and the Netherlands splitting the fifth seat, with a two-year mandate for membership of the Security Council.