Women Players’ of The Year nomination goes public


A cast minus stellar names is in the running for the 2016-17 Ethiopian Women Best Player and Best Goalkeeper in the league after a three player short list in each category was announced Wednesday. Top scorer of the league season Losa Abera is among the major absentees.
Though neither the striker who spear head Dedebit FC women’s side to the league title with sixty plus goals to her name Losa Aberra nor Dedebit’s midfield orchestrator Birtukan G/Kristos missed the nomination for some unknown reason, Ethiopian Football Federation made official the final three candidates list in both categories. The how and by whom of the nomination still undisclosed, the nominees are two from champion Dedebit and a one from runner-up Ethiopia NegedBank.
The all-rounder hard working midfielder Senait Bogale appears the front runner for the crown with her team mate Biruktawit Girma the strongest contender. Both helping their side to win the title for the second season running, Biruktawit’s contention for the crown appears a far cry for her team NegedBank lost the league as well the knock-out titles.
The goalie who saved the last penalty before scoring the knock-out title winning goal Hawassa Ketema’s Tigist Abera is the favorite to win the accolade. Diredawa’s Tarikua Bergena and Adama’s Sasahulesh Seyoum are the other contenders.