EFF Players of The Year award date set for 22nd October


The Ethiopian Football Federation announced the 2016-17 Footballers of The Year award ceremony that takes place on 22nd of October 2017. The award is said to be organized for players’ from all six leagues under the federation including Women’s, U-20 and U-17 categories.
In the men’s premier league the front runners for the award are Aschalew Tamene his team mate mid fielder Mentesenot Adane and former Sidama midfielder Mulualem Mesfin while in the men’s category Senayet Bogale and Beruktawit Girma from Dedebit and Zuleyka Jihad of Ethiopia Neged Bank. For Best goalie of the year, St George’s Robert Odunkara, Abel Mamo of Mekelakya and Sidama’s Lealem Berhanu are the final three, while Hawassa’s Tigist Abera, Tariqua Bergena from Diredawa and Sasahulesh Seyoum from Adama are the last three candidates for Best Custodian of the Year award.
Premier league top scorer who broke the 16 year 24 goal records held by Yordanos Abay , Getaneh Kebede, runner-up Salhadin Said and Women’s league free scorer Losa Abera were the major absentees from the list that called for a huge disagreement from football fans.
It is recalled that after a much disputed award giving ceremony organized by Ethiopian Broadcasting Corporation and held at Sheraton Addis national team and Kidus Giorgis central defender Aschalew Tamene and Lucy and Dedebit FC goal machine Losa Aberra took the historic award along with the biggest ever money prize in Ethiopia Football history 75,000 Birr each. Taking that hefty experience in to consideration EFF is expected to take everyone by surprise.